top of page

Media Project Review

Project Review Questions

Research Methodologies

Looked at Digital Experiments from Thomas Dagg, who photoshops Star Wars objects into real world pictures. They are done at a very realistic quality and in Black and White.

Playing Pokemon Go and other Augmented Reality games to research how they work and what features they have.

Idea Development

Analogue Experiments – Collage of AR games, 3D models of Pokemon Go. 

Digital Experiments – Destroying the Colosseum in Photoshop and overlaying a tablet. 

“Fix the World” Logo design development.

Materials and Methods explored

Materials – Explored Paper in Analogue day. Also used card.

Methods – Used Photoshop heavily such as Layer Masks, Adjustment Layers and more.

Used a lot of selecting parts of the building and making it look destroyed. Also played with opacity.

Evaluation and Reflection

Do better – More Research and maybe more analogue. Try and make a working game demo.

Good Things – The logo and design.

Audience/Context

Audience for my game idea would be young people who play video games and like augmented reality that makes you move around the real world.

The idea could be used for places in real life that need fixing to make the world better, which could apply to people of all ages.

Intention/Theme

My idea’s theme is about Augmented Reality technology and video games. It is also about fixing up the world to make it a better place. 


Review


I think this project was a success as I like my idea and what I have created, as it features new technology and a good meaning. The only concern I have is whether it fits the brief theme of "The right kind of Wrong". I think it does as the point of the game is that you have to fix the wrong versions (destroyed) of buildings.

Strengths in this project were having knowledge in my chosen idea about Augmented Reality and Technology. Also, like the Design project, having a good knowledge of how to use the Adobe Creative Cloud Apps, as this is what my project was made in.

Weaknesses in this project were being able to think of an idea that matched the brief theme as I found it quite hard to understand the meaning of it. I found the brief to be very different to the Design Project and other Graphic Design projects I have undertaken.

New techniques I tried in this project included, photography as I took photos of the AUB campus to base my project on. I found this a pretty easy thing to do as I just used my phone's camera and walked around campus taking photos of the main places.

If i had more time or did the project again, I would improve on my destruction, as I feel there are better and more realistic ways of making buildings look destroyed. I would've also looked into how to make it into a working demo game to see how people would play it and what it would be like.

bottom of page