top of page

Week 2 - Introductory Project

1. How did you understand the rationale for the project?

I understood the rationale of the project as how to use the creative process. I understand the Process from this project and also as it is similar to what we did in College projects.

2. How have you made use of your studio time?

I made use of my studio time by using the computers for research and designing and planning my design in my sketchbook. I also spoke to my friends who were a key part in my project as they told me about their chosen places.

3. What is your understanding of the “Creative Process” and how it applies to your way of working?

The Creative Process is the way to work to achieve an outcome to the brief. This includes broading ideas, distilling them to one idea, then broadening again to get different possibilities and then distilling to the final design. This applies to my way of working as it helps me to know what to do in my projects.

4. How have the contextual references you have found helped you think about new approaches to your work?

The contextual references I found in the library helped in my project by inspiring me with different design approaches for my bookmarks. At the time, I didn’t know what my idea was or what I was planning on making so I couldn’t choose anything that related.

5. How have the practical and material elements of the work gone? (a) have you kept notes?

I have kept notes in my sketchbook by explaining my ideas that I have shown there. E.G. When I made my initial idea sketches, I wrote down my thoughts of this. My planning and final outcome has been included in my sketchbook.

6. What could you do better in the future / what are your plans for next week?

For my future projects, I will plan what I am going to make and my theme before I start making anything as in the last project, I only decided to make them bookmarks on the last day of the project.

7. Have you started photographing your work, keeping the images in a relevant folder?

I haven’t photographed anything apart from the experimental tests. The rest is all included in my sketchbook.

8. You had a tutorial this week, how might you use that to reflect on your progress?

I could use my tutorial to think of other ways of producing my work. This would help to know which pathway to go down.

bottom of page