top of page

Week 6 - Media

1. Write down the similarities and differences in approach between the first and second projects

  • The Similarities between Media and Design that I found are how you generate original imagery for the projects, such as taking photos, and editing a picture to make it your own. Also, research is very similar in both projects as you generate primary and secondary research to inspire and influence my work.

  • Differences include the brief as it is a lot more open and conceptual in Media than the design brief, as that gave me a very clear understanding of what I needed to do. The media brief was very open and I could make anything that even slightly relates to the theme. Analogue Experiments was different to Design (at least Graphic Design that I did), as I spent most of my time on the computer, and just drew my initial ideas on paper.

2. Identify overlapping themes, particularly in your personally directed work: are there connections between ideas, approaches to materials or attitudes that you have you used in both projects. If so, what are these? If not, what are the main differences?

My work in both projects seem to all be computer based and considered Graphic Design. So far, I haven't made an analogue final outcome, however this will probably change in the Art project.

3. Have you changed where you see yourself currently in terms of art/design/media? If so, why?

I have not changed as all of my outcomes have been very heavily Graphic Design.

4. Considering the ‘Bigger Picture’ lecture series and the Pathway Guidance lectures can you list the two most suitable pathways for your emerging creative practice and university progression (if appropriate)

The two most suitable pathways for me are to either do a degree course in Graphic Design or Visual Communication (Very likely at AUB), or find an apprenticeship or job in the Graphic Design industry. My preferred option would be a degree.

5. Using this in-depth reflection, describe what you might do better next week?

Next week will be very different to the last two projects for me as I will probably not be able to do any Graphic or Design work. I will try and do better research by exploring more forms and amount.

6. If you had a tutorial this week, how might you use that to reflect on your progress?

I did not have a tutorial this week.

bottom of page